National Awards

NCMA has several awards to recognize many outstanding efforts of members. If you would like to nominate yourself or a colleague, please contact our Awards Chair.

Albert Berger Outstanding Chapter Leadership Award
The Albert Berger Outstanding Chapter Leadership Award was established in 1998 to provide a means of giving special recognition at the national level to those volunteers who demonstrate superior chapter leadership achievements in support of their chapter’s goals and activities.

Alvis (Al) D. Keen Honorary Life Member Award
This is the highest honor in NCMA, awarded for exceptional and noteworthy contributions to the achievement of the purposes of the association. These contributions should be significant enough and at a high enough level to be generally known to the NCMA membership well beyond the nominee’s chapter.

Arthur G. Muller Volunteer Award
This award is intended to recognize NCMA members who have served, without compensation (other than reimbursement for out-of-pocket expenses), the association through their participation, contribution, and leadership in its activities.

Blanche Witte Memorial Foundation Annual Award
This award is designed to provide formal recognition to an individual working in the field of procurement and contract management who has uniquely performed one or more exemplary achievements.

Charles A. Dana Distinguished Service Award
This is the second highest award bestowed by NCMA. Recipients are chosen for exceptional and noteworthy contributions to the achievement of the purposes of the association.

Charles J. Delaney Memorial Award
This award recognizes NCMA members who submit well-written, relevant articles for publication in Contract Management magazine.

Education Award
This award is designed to provide recognition to an NCMA member for an exemplary contribution to the profession of contract management through the field of education.

Elmer B. Staats Contracting Professional Excellence Award
This award from the Procurement Round Table recognizes a federal acquisition professional with extraordinary business leadership or team participation in the design, development, or execution of an acquisition program of project that futhers an agency's mission.

Excellence in Contracts Professionalism Award
This award was established in 2007 to recognize individuals with a remarkable reputation for professionalism and exceptional achievement in contract management.

Fellow Award
The Fellow designation is reserved for individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of contracting and to NCMA and is the third highest award given by the association.

Herbert Roback Memorial Award
This award is presented annually to a nationally renowned and distinguished American who has made a significant contribution to the betterment of public contract management through lifelong achievement in the public or private sectors.

James E. Cravens Membership Award
This Award is designed to recognize NCMA chapters and individual members for outstanding membership accomplishments during the past NCMA program year. It is intended to highlight achievements in membership recruitment and retention.

Macfarlan Research and Writing Program
Papers may be submitted for consideration in one of three categories: graduate research, professional research, and undergraduate paper writing. Theoretical and empirical papers relevant to the practice of contract management are welcome. Papers may be presented from a variety of basic disciplines, such as business, finance, marketing, management, accounting, management information systems (MIS), public administration, economics, business education, and related fields, as long as the research is relevant to the contract management field. Winners in each category receive a cash prize and an invitation to present their papers at NCMA’s annual World Congress conference.

National Achievement Award
This award is intended to provide a means of giving special recognition to those volunteers who make notable contributions in such areas as writing of education products, a unique NCMA advocacy program, promotion of the certification program, or any other special or unique contribution deserving of national recognition.

Outstanding Fellow Award
The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding NCMA Fellows, stimulate continuous contributions to NCMA and the contract management profession by Fellows, and recognize their accomplishments at the chapter and national levels.

The NCMA Top Professionals Under 40 in Contract Management Award
This award was established in 2012 to provide peer recognition to the rising stars and top performers in the contract management profession under the age of 40. These professionals, who are the future of contract management, come from the ranks of academia, government and industry. 

Walter R. Graalman Award
The Walter R. Graalman Award recognizes chapters who provide value to NCMA members and to the association. NCMA chapters that operate effectively by connecting the NCMA mission and values to our members are eligible to receive this award, named for a long-time NCMA contributor and supporter.